Dramatists Guild Fund

Meet the Fellows: Camille Darby, Playwright

Credits include: Lords Resistance (BRIO Award, The Fire This Time Festival), The White Peacock (Classical Theatre of Harlem) and Exodus (The Fire This Time Festival)

Camille Darby

Camille Darby

  • Who do you look to for inspiration?

Inspiration comes from every where, so I try to pay attention. But to sum it up, I’m most inspired by how people overcome, fight against, or get swallowed up by their personal tragedies. I look for this in music, books, film, television, photographs, conversation, and even facial expressions. I try to pay attention.

  •      What is the one thing you hope to accomplish this year?

One solid full length draft. I have a lot of ideas and characters swirling around in my head and I’m eager and ready to let them out in play form. I would say that is my primary goal. I also hope to expand my theatre network and really be a tool to my peers in this fellowship.  Practicing and studying your craft, in my opinion, is only part of doing the work. Being a resource to others is what I think makes a better artist.

  •      What’s the best (or worst) job not related to your career you ever had?

Hmmm…who’s going to be reading this again?

I haven’t had a ton of jobs, but for the ones I have had, I am fortunate that none of them have been terrible. And that’s not just bullshit. Glass half full right? There’s honestly no best or worst particularly because they have all been experiences that in some small way circle back to what I’m building for myself as an artist. I’ve gotten some good storytelling material from the jobs I’ve had. People are…interesting! One other crucial upside was the ability to print my scripts at said job. Can’t imagine what it would’ve personally cost me to buy ink and paper in order to submit 90+ pages of work to theatres and programs. Thank God the times are changing, emailed PDFs are much more common these days, so that’s good for my pockets. 

  •      Where would you rather be if you couldn’t be here doing this?

I don’t even want to imagine that.

  •      When did you decide you were going to take over the universe?

Ha! I can’t share that information.

  •      Why would you ever stop writing, if you ever stopped writing?

There was a time where writing no longer existed in my day to day. It felt wrong, and I knew I needed to reconcile why I wasn’t writing with what I was truly feeling. I was a baby when I graduated from Sarah Lawrence College, and then I went straight off to graduate school at Tisch. At 23, with an MFA, I was 1) tapped out, and 2) felt I needed to explore life outside of writing. I hadn’t been writing for myself anymore. I reached a point where I did it because I now had this expensive degree so I needed to crank out pages to prove I deserved it. Young and dumb! That degree is still expensive and still being paid for, but my motivation is different. I needed to experience life in different ways in order to get back to a place where I feel compelled to create and offer something interesting. Now, I feel ready. In retrospect, taking time to not write was necessary, and not crucifying myself for it was equally important. 

Bonus Question: How do you measure, measure a year?

By going back to my “goals for this year” list in my iPhone and seeing how much stuff is checked off.

One comment on “Meet the Fellows: Camille Darby, Playwright

  1. Pingback: Lia Chang: Playwright Camille Darby, 2014-15 Dramatists Guild Playwrighting Fellow | Backstage Pass with Lia Chang

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 6, 2015 by in Meet the Fellows and tagged , .
