Dramatists Guild Fund

Meet the Fellows: Kathleen Tagg, Composer

Credits Include: Erika’s Wall, Spieël Speel (Mirror Play)

Kathleen Tagg

Kathleen Tagg

  • Who do you look to for inspiration?

Artists who joyfully push boundaries while making me think, no matter the medium they use or the art form- and people who go out and make things happen!

  •     What is the one thing you hope to accomplish this year?

To reconcile the ideas I have for various projects I am working on with the best possible way for me to realize their form. I want to be able to keep the original joy that I felt at the idea in the end product. If I can do that in my work this year, I will be incredibly happy.

  • What’s the best (or worst) job not related to your career you ever had?

I used to work as a street musician in my home town, Cape Town, in my school holidays from the age of 14. We were booked to play at the main tourist hub from 10-6 each day, but the majority of our income was through tips from the public. It was incredibly empowering to be able to earn money to support all my activities, but also to learn about arranging music and evaluating what people valued and found worthy of their money. There can’t be many jobs where you get more immediately the effects of what people assign value to or not. If they like it, they give money. If not, they don’t! A great lesson.

  •     Where would you rather be if you couldn’t be here doing this?

Playing in a string band and learning to ride a horse. And surfing- or trying to at least!

  •      When did you decide you were going to take over the universe?

Nowadays I just want to make things that I am proud of, and give them a fair chance of being seen by others who may enjoy them.

  • Why would you ever stop writing, if you ever stopped writing?

If I found somebody else writing what was in my head!

Bonus Question: How do you measure, measure a year? 

By how far I pushed outside my comfort zone, and what new places I got to see.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 2, 2014 by in Meet the Fellows and tagged .
