Dramatists Guild Fund

Meet the Fellows: James A. Tyler, Playwright

Credits Include: Some Old Black Man, The Drop Off, hop tha A, You’re Sitting in the Dark, Dolphins and Sharks.

James A. Tyler

James A. Tyler

  • Who do you look to for inspiration?

I really do look to everyone for inspiration. Strangers in NYC and other places (I spy on people a lot), Other playwrights August Wilson, Caryl Churchill, etc., the people I love, the people I HATE – I’m all over the place when it comes to inspiration. 

  •     What is the one thing you hope to accomplish this year?

I want to write a play with a compelling and logical dramatic arc. The characters and dialogue seem to come easy when I’m writing but dramatic arc is always a challenge. I’m going to accomplish that goal this year!

  • What’s the best (or worst) job not related to your career you ever had?

I HATE all jobs not related to my career, so I haven’t had a best job. They all sucked. The one that sucked the most is this job I had the summer after my freshman year in undergrad. My hometown is Las Vegas, NV where most summer days are over 100 degrees. In Vegas I had a job where I had to pull and cut these long heavy electrical wires across this warehouse floor. The warehouse had no air conditioning. Uuugghh, why did you make me relive that nightmare?

  •      Where would you rather be if you couldn’t be here doing this?

Directing a film. I love film and filmmaking.

  •      When did you decide you were going to take over the universe?

Taking over the universe sounds too much like a job. I don’t want any part of that. Nope. I’m good. 

  • Why would you ever stop writing, if you ever stopped writing?

I don’t want to stop writing. It depresses me to know that I have to stop once it’s time for that dirt nap, unless someone comes up with a way for a corpse to be able to write. Oh, “How to Get a Corpse to Write!” I have a pitch for ABC!

Bonus Question: How do you measure, measure a year? 

By my annual rejections from the O’Neill, The Lark, Juilliard’s Playwriting Program, Seven Devils, Soho Rep Writer/Director Lab, Cherry Lane Mentor Project, etc., etc. etc. In the words of Tupac, “I suffered through the years, and shed so many tears.” LOL!  

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2014 by in DGFellows, Meet the Fellows.
