Dramatists Guild Fund

Meet the Fellows: Kristine M. Reyes, Playwright

Credits include: Lily in Love (Mission to (dit)Mars Launch Pad Reading Series in February 2015); Stage/Mother; and Queen for a Day (Diverse City Theater Company’s “First Draft” Fellowship).

Kristine M. Reyes DG Fellow 2014-2015

Kristine M. Reyes

 

  • Who do you look to for inspiration?

Artists who put their heart and soul on the line every time they create something. Artists who are fearless about getting their work out there, who don’t wait for the “yes” but make the “yes” happen. I’m working on the former, but still have a ways to go with the latter.

Also, my mom. I know it’s not a coincidence that most of my plays feature strong, charismatic, funny mother characters. Her life’s journey as a successful immigrant single mother coupled with her dynamic, larger-than-life personality is a constant source of inspiration.  I often wonder if I’d have anything to write about at all if not for my mom. (By the way, she is going to read this and love it, send it to all her friends, and I will never, ever live this down.)

  •     What is the one thing you hope to accomplish this year?

I would love to develop one of my first draft scripts into a draft that I feel is ready for production. I’m still a full-length production virgin and I’m gearing myself up for that exciting challenge!

  • What’s the best (or worst) job not related to your career you ever had?

The best job I ever had was working as a day camp counselor for two summers during high school. My kids were 5-6 year olds, had the biggest, sweetest personalities, and yes, said the darnedest things.

  •      Where would you rather be if you couldn’t be here doing this?

I’ve grown up in NYC since the age of seven and have been going to the theater pretty much since then too (thanks to my mom), so I honestly can’t imagine being/living/loving anywhere else but here.  

  •      When did you decide you were going to take over the universe?

When the day comes, you’ll be the first to know!

  •      Why would you ever stop writing, if you ever stopped writing?

I imagine it would take a tremendous life-altering experience to get me to stop writing. But then I’d probably want to write about it.

Bonus Question: How do you measure, measure a year? 

In love. Always in love. (Sorry, I was a NYC high school kid when Rent came out, I can’t help it.)

One comment on “Meet the Fellows: Kristine M. Reyes, Playwright

  1. Pingback: Hello, Fellows! | kristine m. reyes

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2014 by in DGFellows, Meet the Fellows and tagged , , .
