Dramatists Guild Fund

#3Q4M: Lucy Simon

#3Q4M – Three Questions for the Moderators

Wherein we ask the Moderators of the Dramatists Guild Fellowship three questions of monumental significance.

Lucy Simon: Musical Theatre

Lucy Simon

www

  • We know the DG Fellows program supplies mentorships to the fellows with other fancy Guild members not regularly in the Fellows’ room, but as someone who is in that room week in and week out, you are in many ways a mentor as well.  Who were your mentors when you were emerging and how did you meet them?

I really never had a specific mentor.  I grew up in an artistic family.  There were always interesting creative people around.  I know this seriously dates me, but among our family friends were Arthur Schwartz and Oscar Hammerstein.  I went to musicals and operas;  I  read voraciously and was always fascinated with the way music could tell stories.  My musical passion was classical.  I was a singer and studied opera and art songs; I became a folk-singer and singer/songwriter.  When I started writing for the musical theater, I filtered all of this into story-telling.  My mentors then were my collaborators and still are.  Michael Korie, as you may have noticed, is a brilliant collaborator and mentor.

  • The DG Fellows program has enjoyed a long and successful history under the stewardship of Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty and Janet Neipris.  Now it is in your hands.  What can we look forward to in the coming years?

Michael Korie answered this one for both of us.

  • The need to give back, pay forward or pass the torch is something most artists (with or without notoriety) encounter in their artistic lives.   We’re thinking the same can be said of you.  What, if anything, would you hope to see more of from the next generation of writers as a result of your experience? 

I have always been interested in translating emotion into music.  Emotion doesn’t always follow rules.  I want to encourage composers to find their own voice and not be afraid of where it leads them.  Melody is supremely important and is often left behind in favor of cleverness and sophistication.

Bonus question:

  • If present-day you could travel back in time to emerging-day you, what would you tell them about your present-day life that they would not see coming?

I never anticipated that Disney would take up so much real estate on Broadway and lower the common denominator of musical theater.  Let’s fight back!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
