Dramatists Guild Fund

#5Q4F 2014: Matthew Paul Olmos, Playwright

Credits include: So Go the Ghosts of Mexico I,IIThe Nature of CaptivityNobody Rides a Locomotive No’ Mo.

MatthewOlmos_website

FBtwitter tinstagram

  • Who do you look to for inspiration?

I listen to people who are from older generations for their perspective on things I can’t or am stubbornly not seeing. I retroactively look to George Carlin.

  •      What’s the best (or worst) job not related to your career you ever had?

I currently work for a popular daytime live talk show…it pays well for short hours, but I can feel the advertisement-driven medium eating away at me.

  •      Where would you rather be if you couldn’t be here doing this?

On an island, or beachy environment, making just enough to get by, but spending my days on a boat, scuba diving, or just walking around in sandy flip flops. With a dog.

  •      When did you decide you were going to take over the universe?

Taking over the universe sounds very Lex Luther to me, but I do recall watching Bowling For Columbine in the Lower East Side, then walking to Shakespeare & Co. and buying Nickel and Dimed, reading it all in one night, and letting go of all scripts I had been writing without social or political relevance.

  •      Why would you ever stop writing, if you ever stopped writing?

I’d like to say if I ever felt like my stories weren’t adding anything to the social conversation or had no relevance beyond ego. But likely it will be when it physically hurts my fingers to type or hold a pencil.

Bonus Question: How do you measure, measure a year? 

When going through the last year’s submission essays, I find it interesting to see if I even did anything I had planned. And I feel slightly surprised, but proud, when I have. And I shake my head at myself when I haven’t.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2014 by in 5Q4F, DGFellows and tagged , .
